Boys & Girls Clubs To Name State’s Top Youth

Pictured Sweetwater County's youth of the year Jacob Smith pictured with Senator Liisa Anselmi-Dalton.

CHEYENNE — One Boys & Girls Club member will be named the Wyoming Youth of the Year and earn a generous college scholarship for exemplifying outstanding efforts as a Club and community member. Four teens from Clubs around Wyoming will compete for state Youth of the Year with the winner receiving a full tuition and fees scholarship (supplement to Hathaway) to the University of Wyoming. The finalists include: Michael Martinez-Montano from the Boys & Girls Club of Cheyenne, Jacob Tyler Smith from the Boys & Girls Club of Sweetwater County, Leslie Banda from the Boys & Girls Clubs of Carbon County, and Catherine “Cat” Williams from the Boys & Girls Clubs of Central Wyoming.

The 2018 State Youth of the Year will be announced at the annual Recognition Luncheon to be held on Thursday, March 1, at noon at the Boys & Girls Club of Cheyenne, 515 W. Jefferson Road, Cheyenne. The winner will go on to compete in the Boys & Girls Clubs Southwest Region consisting of eight states.

Since 1947, Youth of the Year has been Boys & Girls Clubs of America’s premier recognition program, celebrating the extraordinary achievements of Club members. Each year, one exceptional young person from a Boys & Girls Club rises to the role of National Youth of the Year, becoming an exemplary ambassador who not only speaks as the voice of Club youth everywhere but also stands up to represent all of our nation’s young people.

Advertisement - Story continues below...

The National Youth of the Year program is sponsored by Disney and Toyota. The 2018 Wyoming Youth of the Year Luncheon is sponsored by Magellan Healthcare, Inc.