Brubaker Receives Airport Executive of the Year Award

The Airport's SEAT Base project also received an award.
Brubaker Receives Airport Executive of the Year Award

Southwest Wyoming Regional Airport Director Devon Brubaker received the Airport Executive of the Year Award. SweetwaterNOW file photo

ROCK SPRINGS — During a recent Wyoming Airports Coalition conference, Southwest Wyoming Regional Airport Director Devon Brubaker was named the Airport Executive Director of the Year.

At that same conference, the Southwest Wyoming Regional Airport’s Single Engine Air Tanker (SEAT) Base project shared the project of the year award with Wheatland’s Phifer Airfield Runway Reconstruction Project.

In a press release sent out earlier today, the Wyoming Airports Coalition recognized several individuals and airports that represent the very best in Wyoming aviation. Recognition included the Aviation Achievement Award, Project of the Year Award, Airport Executive of the Year Award, and Lifetime Achievement Award.

Advertisement - Story continues below...

The Airport Executive of the Year Award is presented to an airport executive for his or her dedication and contribution to aviation through the operation and/or development of their airport, or for their significant participation in the aviation industry, the press release states.

“Brubaker was recognized by his peers for his efforts to support aviation in his community and beyond as his efforts have transcended the airport perimeter fence in ways that have befitted his community, other airports, and the Wyoming aviation system,” according to the press release. “His dedication to his airport, his community and the entire Wyoming Aviation System were highlighted in the nominations for the award.”

The Project of the Year Award is typically awarded to a single project that demonstrates innovative design, significant planning community involvement, a unique funding model, and/or a game-changing improvement to the airport. This year, two projects met these criteria and received a tie vote by the Board of Directors.

The Rock Springs Single Engine Air Tanker (SEAT) Base shared that award this year. The new 4-acre SEAT Base was the first of its kind and includes an aircraft apron, two aircraft loading positions, six aircraft parking positions, secondary containment structure for retardant tanks, detention pond and robust storm water system to meet the latest DEQ/EPA standards, the press release states. The project also included the renovation of 5,000 square feet of office space to house a Bureau of Land Management Operations Center.

The Bureau of Land Management’s Single Engine Air Tanker base in Rock Springs became operational this summer. Courtesy photo

About WAC:

Founded in 1976 as the Wyoming Airport Operators Association, the Wyoming Airports Coalition includes aviation stakeholders and airports of all types and sizes. Its membership comes from nine commercial airports, 19 general aviation airports, and 22 aviation related corporations. The coalition focuses on professional development, education, and the promotion of aviation and airport interests at local, state, and federal levels.