Mustangs Advance Six Wrestlers to Championship Quarterfinals

Mustangs Advance Six Wrestlers to Championship Quarterfinals

Landon Brown earns a takedown on Friday afternoon against Clackamas. Photo by Brayden Flack.

COUNCIL BLUFFS, Iowa — Six out of the ten Western Wyoming Community College wrestlers will be competing in the quarterfinals round of the 2020 National Junior College Athletic Association Wrestling Championships.

Landon Brown (heavyweight), Tucker Tomlinson (197), Jace Anderson (184), Andrew Nicholson (174), Anthony Herrera (157) and Kedric Coonis (141) remain in the chase for individual national titles. Joey Revelli (149) reached the third round in the consolation bracket. Dalton Stutzman (125), Jared Bird (165) and Kyle Evans (133) were knocked out of the tournament during the first session.

The Mustangs currently sit in the tenth spot with a team score of 26.5. Five falls contributed to the team score during Friday’s opening rounds. Nicholson came away with two of the pins, followed by Anderson, Herrera and Stutzman who brought in the other three. Revelli closed the afternoon off with a technical fall 16-1.

Advertisement - Story continues below...

Western will wrestle the championship quarterfinals and third and fourth round consolation rounds tonight at 5:15 p.m. You can follow along or watch the wrestling live on Flo Wrestling.

Below are results and photos from Friday’s opening rounds:

125 – Dalton Stutzman

Tommy Russell (Triton) over Dalton Stutzman (WWCC) – Fall 2:49

Dalton Stutzman (WWCC) over Chris Romero (Minnesota West) – Fall 0:40

Clarence Lee-Green (NIACC) over Dalton Stutzman (WWCC) – Fall 0:31

141 – Kedric Coonis

Kedric Coonis (WWCC) over Drew Burgoon (Barton) – Decision 7-0

Kedric Coonis (WWCC) over Robert Hall Jr. (Iowa Lakes) – Decision 14-10

149 – Joey Revelli

Joey Revelli (WWCC) over RJ Driscoll (Lackawanna) – 3-1

Martin Margolis III (Clackamas) over Joey Revelli (WWCC) – 3-2

Joey Revelli (WWCC) over Corey Eyer (Bergen) – Technical Fall 16-1

157 – Anthony Herrera

Anthony Herrera (WWCC) over Jayden Johnson (Thaddeus Stevens) – Decision 8-3

Anthony Herrera (WWCC) over Spencer Head (Mercyhurst) – Fall 4:08

165 – Jared Bird

Chinges Tsermaa (Northwest Kansas Tech) over Jared Bird (WWCC) – Decision 8-6

Jeff Nugent (Harper) over Jared Bird (WWCC) – Fall 1:37

174 – Andrew Nicholson

Andrew Nicholson (WWCC) over Jacob Knight (Bergen) – Fall 3:46

Andrew Nicholson (WWCC) over Noah Boles (Joliet) – Fall 5:45

184 – Jace Anderson

Jace Anderson (WWCC) over Dymtro Lakusta (Spartanburg Methodist) – Fall 0:29

Jace Anderson (WWCC) over Hunter Gregerson (North Idaho) – Decision 9-4

197 – Tucker Tomlinson

Tucker Tomlinson (WWCC) over Ja’quez Bostic (Iowa Central) – Decision 3-2

Tucker Tomlinson (WWCC) over Kai Olson (Highline College) – Decision 6-4

Heavyweight – Landon Brown

Landon Brown (WWCC) over Hunter Marhan (Middlesex County) – Major Decision 11-0

Landon Brown (WWCC) over Tommy Mommer (Clackamas) – Decision 4-3