Nine Cowboys Named Academic All-Big 12

UW Photo by Kyle Spradley

IRVING, Texas– The University of Wyoming wrestling team placed nine student-athletes on the 2018 Academic All-Big 12 Teams, as announced by the league office on Wednesday.

Cowboys Named to Academic All-Big 12

Montorie Bridges, Sam Eagan, Bryce Meredith, Luke Paine, Kyle Pope, Ronnie Stevens and Cody Vigoren earned Academic All-Big 12 first team honors, while Archie Colgan and Ben Hornickle garnered second team accolades.

The team features 19 student-athletes from Conference member institutions Iowa State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State and West Virginia.

Student-athletes from the league’s affiliate members in the sport – Air Force, Northern Colorado, North Dakota State, South Dakota State, Utah Valley and Wyoming totaled 68 selections.

University of Wyoming sports coverage
in Southwest Wyoming is supported by these great sponsors:

Qualifications for Academic All-Big 12

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher, either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 20 percent of their team’s scheduled contests.

Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.