Outstanding Wyoming Workplaces and Individuals Receive Governor’s Safety, Workforce Awards; Winners include Degerstrom Converters of Rock Springs

Outstanding Wyoming Workplaces and Individuals Receive Governor’s Safety, Workforce Awards; Winners include Degerstrom Converters of Rock Springs

CHEYENNE — Governor Matt Mead joined the Wyoming Department of Workforce Services (DWS) and its partners in recognizing 15 outstanding Wyoming workplaces or individuals at the 2014 Wyoming Safety and Workforce Summit Wednesday evening. More than 500 individuals are participating in the Summit, which continues through Thursday in Cheyenne.

The Wyoming Safety and Workforce Summit is a joint effort of the Wyoming Department of Workforce Services, the Wyoming Workforce Development Council and the Wyoming Oil and Gas Industry Safety Alliance (WOGISA). The collaboration streamlines several safety conferences that were held in Wyoming and the annual Summit on Workforce Solutions into one event.

“More Wyoming residents are employed in the state today than ever before,” said Governor Matt Mead. “We want to make sure that each of these workers comes home safely to their families every day. I commend the Wyoming employers and employees being recognized at the 2014 Wyoming Safety and Workforce Summit for making safety a top priority.”

Advertisement - Story continues below...

Director of the Wyoming Department of Workforce Services Joan Evans presented the mining and industry safety awards. “The recipients of the Governor’s Safety Awards are an elite group of safety leaders in our state. I applaud the award winners for achieving high standards in safety and health and it is my hope that all Wyoming employers will follow their example,” said Evans.

Jim Engel, Chairman of the Wyoming Workforce Development Council, presented the workforce awards. “It is a privilege to recognize the efforts of the winners of the 2014 Workforce Development Awards,” said Engel. “Their innovative contributions have resulted in a stronger, more competitive workforce.”

WOGISA championed the annual Governor’s Stop Work Authority Award and the WOGISA Stop Work Authority Award. WOGISA President Jack Bedessem said “Employers can provide all the safety training, mentoring and equipment in the world, but stop work authority empowers everyone in our workforce with the ability to work safely. These individuals made the bold choice to stop a hazardous situation, which prevented themselves and their coworkers from being involved in an accident or worse. Their actions are beyond commendable. We encourage all employers and supervisors to empower their workers with this powerful tool.”

The following employers or individuals are recipients of awards at the 2014 Wyoming Safety and Workforce Summit:

Governor’s Safety Award Certificates

Governor’s Safety Awards are presented to Wyoming employers demonstrating a strong safety culture and excellence in safety and health programs. One large employer and a small employer are eligible in each of the following categories:

Voluntary Protection Program

  • Small Employer: G.M. Stewart Corporation of Evanston
  • Large Employer: Chevron, USA Wyoming Area Operations

Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program

  • Small Employer: WBI Energy Transmission
  • Large Employer: Automation & Electronics of Casper and Gillette

General Industry

  • Large Employer: Wyoming Machinery Company of Casper and Cheyenne
  • Small Employer: Degerstrom Converters of Rock Springs


  • Large Employer: Cloud Peak Energy-Cordero Rojo Mine
  • Small Employer: Wyodak Resources Development Corporation-Wyodak Coal Mine

Mine-site contractor

  • Large Employer: Rail Link, Inc. of Gillette
  • Small Employer: Redi Project Services, LLC of Lyman

Stop Work Authority Award (SWA)

The SWA recognizes an action that has taken place at a project or work site in Wyoming. The award honors an individual or group who engaged in a tangible action to stop the work or task due to a perceived, potential or actual hazardous condition.

Governor’s Stop Work Authority: John Ondriezek, Holly Frontier Refinery

WOGISA Stop Work Authority: Stafford Polk Jr, Linn Energy

Workforce Development

The Wyoming Workforce Development Council recognizes employers or individuals in the following three categories:

Workforce Partnership recognizes a project demonstrating a unique collaboration between businesses and community organizations that include, but are not limited to, the workforce system, economic development and education which results in addressing a workforce issue.

Workforce Partnership Award Winner: Wyoming Process Technology Partnership

Outstanding Investment in Young Workers is presented to an employer committed to investing in young workers.

Outstanding Investment in Young Workers Award Winner: Gayle Wilson, Works of Wyoming, Wyoming Women’s Business Center, Laramie

Outstanding Individual Performance recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the workforce development profession through the development or enhancement of public or private workforce systems, or the building of strategic alliances and partnerships.

Outstanding Individual Performance Award Winner: Director of Workforce Training, Lori Ridgway, Central Wyoming College’s Workforce and Community Education Department