RSHS Speech and Debate Team Finishes Second at State

RSHS Speech and Debate Team Finishes Second at State

The Rock Springs High School Speech and Debate team finished second at the state competition this year. Photo courtesy of Stephanie Cozzens.

The Rock Springs Tigers Speech and Debate team embraced a digital platform for the state competition this year.

Rock Springs crowned four state champions and earned second place in the team standings. Head Coach Stephanie Cozzens said that the success this year came from the hard work put in by the team. A handful of team members put hours of competitive practice in on their own time which helped fuel their performances when it mattered most.

“It would have been easy for us to let that competitive fire go out, but having to wait longer to get to the state competition made us want it even more,” Cozzens said.

Advertisement - Story continues below...

This year’s tournament was hosted online with the help of the University of Wyoming. The Tigers’ ability to adapt to the online platform revealed the true characteristics of this year’s team according to Cozzens.

“While online tournaments cannot replicate everything brick-and mortar events offer, this year’s state tournament proved to ourselves as well as everyone else that no matter the circumstances, we are a team who sticks together, insists on excellence, and never gives up.”

Here are the full results for RSHS:

State Champions:

  • Makayla Kramer, Lincoln Douglas Debate (4A)
  • Isabella Rodriguez, Informative Speaking (4A)
  • Shiva Yeshlur, Extemporaneous Speaking (4A)
  • Brody White, Congressional Debate (4A)


  • Adley Robbins, 3rd place Dramatic Interpretation (2nd 4A)
  • Gwennan Pritchard, 4th place Extemporaneous Speaking (3rd 4A)

Semifinalists in Debate:

  • Rachel Shuler and Shiva Yeshlur, Public Forum Debate (tied for 3rd place)
  • Hanna Crocket and Ben Bae, Policy Debate (tied for 3rd place)

Quarterfinalist in Lincoln Douglas Debate:

  • Zak Fox (tied for 5th place)

Semifinalists in Individual Events:

  • Makayla Kramer, Original Oratory
  • Cody Hall, Original Oratory
  • Lillian Jensen, Humorous Interpretation
  • Esther Bae, Extemporaneous Speaking

Best Legislation:

  • Rachel Shuler, Congressional Debate (Chamber B)

All-State Honors:

  • Makayla Kramer
  • Brody White
  • Hanna Crockett
  • Rachel Shuler
  • Adley Robbins
  • Isabella Rodriguez
  • Shiva Yeshlur
  • Ben Bae