Two Sweetwater County Students Graduate from UW’s First Construction Management Program

Two Sweetwater County Students Graduate from UW’s First Construction Management Program

(Photo credit: University of Wyoming)

LARAMIE — Twenty-seven University of Wyoming students, including two Sweetwater County students, are the first to obtain a Bachelor of Science in construction management through the UW College of Engineering and Applied Science.

Karson Beutel of Green River and Wyatt Yenney of Rock Springs were among the graduates. The graduates, experienced faculty team teaching through a teaching methodology titled “Teaching with Industry” across all 19 integrated courses. The program is designed to help bridge a disconnect between theory and practice and to be more applicable to the real-world construction management environment.

The Construction Management Program, established in 2019, is among UW’s fastest-growing programs, with 150 students. A fourth cohort of 70 students is expected to enroll for the fall semester.

Advertisement - Story continues below...

“The Construction Management Program underscores the goal of a UW College of Engineering and Applied Science education by preparing students to be leaders who are able to think critically, collaborate effectively, seek innovative solutions and be examples of excellence in their communities,” says Francois Jacobs, a Department of Civil and Architectural Engineering and Construction Management associate professor.

The Construction Management Program offers hands-on training and opportunities for students to earn certifications along with their studies in this booming industry. Students in the program graduate with several industry-recognized certificates, including OSHA 30-hour training; Procore; LEED; a Homebuyer Education Certification; and the American Institute of Constructors certification. All are an integrated requirement across the construction management curriculum, Jacobs says.

Graduates of the program, listed by hometown, are:

Aiken, S.C. — Amy Daugherty.
Beulah — Yuli Viergets.
Carrollton, Ga. — Charles Britton.
Casper — Austin Anderson and Matthew Loundagin.
Colorado Springs, Colo. — Nicholas Harrison.
Cowley — Jared May.
Craig, Colo. — Ryan Zimmerman.
Evanston — James Lennon and James Majors.
Gillette — Colter Barton.
Great Falls, Va. — Andreas Lipp.
Green River — Karson Beutel.
Helena, Mont. — Jaret Falkowski.
Kaycee — Ryan Walker.
Kiowa, Colo. — Landon Kellogg.
Laramie — Keene Aldridge, Matthew Burkhart, Brady Griffin, Colton Larson and Josie Stolzenberg
Littleton, Colo. — Grace Collins.
Pass Christian, Miss. — John Putnam.
Powell — Tyler Larsen.
Rock Springs — Wyatt Yenney.
Sundance — Steven Jones.
Thornton, Colo. — Ricardo Damian.

For more information about UW’s Construction Management Program, visit