Second Annual WESPYS Hosted by UW SAAC

LARAMIE – The University of Wyoming Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) hosted the second annual WESPYS on Sunday evening, May 1 at the Marian H. Rochelle Gateway Center. The event honored great team and individual accomplishments by Cowboys and Cowgirls from the past year.

Jackie McBride, of volleyball, and Jack Scafuri, of swimming and diving, served as emcees for the event. An estimated crowd of 250 student-athletes, administrators and coaches were in attendance.

Kalah Skates, the 2016-17 President of UW’s SAAC and a senior on the Cowgirl track and field team this past year, spoke about how the event has grown in its second year.

Advertisement - Story continues below...

“I think we were really able to build off of the success of the event last year. When people heard about what a great event it was last year and how it brought people together, there were more people who wanted to be part of it,” said Skates. “We had so many people want to help with the event and make it that much better in its second year. I love that student-athletes are commending other student-athletes. It is great how supportive the administration, coaches and all the staff are for the event. I’m really excited to see what our younger student-athletes do with this event in the future, and I’m excited to see it grow into an even bigger event. I want to thank all our SAAC members who participated in putting this together. It couldn’t have happened without the SAAC Executive Board and our entire SAAC membership. They dedicated a lot of hours, definitely a huge thanks to them.”

Peter Prigge, Assistant Athletics Director for Compliance for UW Athletics, serves as the SAAC advisor. “This year was a huge success for the WESPYS! Using the momentum from last year’s success, our WESPYS committees really pushed to make this event bigger and better,” said Prigge. “They want to continue to grow this event where it is seen as a “must attend” event for all student-athletes and coaches.

“We took a step in the right direction this year. Our group was able to add a few awards to the event and enhance the overall atmosphere of the WESPYS. We added some live performances by student-athletes and live polls that student-athletes could vote on during the WESPYS. The interactive experience was key to the event’s success.

“The hard work of our student-athletes and the support of two incredible sponsors, Western States Bank & Tyrrell Auto Centers, did not go unnoticed to those who attended. We look forward to future success of the WESPYS!”

Awards were presented in 21 categories from: female and male student-athletes of the year (based on academic performance); to male and female athletes of the year; to the team excellence awards; to the leadership award.
The award recipients in each category follow.

University of Wyoming sports coverage
in Southwest Wyoming is brought to you by these great sponsors:

2017 WESPYS Award Winners

Female Athlete of the Year

Maria Harutjunjan (Swimming and Diving)

Male Athlete of the Year

Scotia Mullin (Swimming and Diving)

Female Student-Athlete of the Year

(Based on Student-Athlete Who Has Excelled in the classroom while balancing athletics.)

Tie: Audra DeStefano (Track and Field), majoring in chemical engineering

Male Student-Athlete of the Year

(Based on Student-Athlete Who Has Excelled in the classroom while balancing athletics.)

Chase Roullier (Football), majoring in mechanical engineering

Female Rookie of the Year

Karla Contreras (Swimming and Diving)

Male Rookie of the Year

Logan Wilson (Football)

Most Likely to go Pro Award

Brian Hill (Football)

“Better Together” Award

Presented by Western States Bank

Liv Roberts (Women’s Basketball)

Team Academic Excellence Award

(Highest Team Grade-Point Average)

Women’s Golf, 3.67

Best Moment

Wyoming Football’s wins over No. 13 Boise State and No. 24 San Diego State

Best Dressed

Courtney Chacon (Women’s Volleyball)

Al Herndon (Men’s Basketball)

Cowgirl Tough Award

(Presented by the UW Sports Performance Department)

Keely Bishop (Swimming and Diving)

Cowboy Tough Award

(Presented by the UW Sports Performance Department)

Branson Ashworth (Wrestling)

Comeback Athlete of the Year

Tie: Bailee Cotton (Women’s Basketball) and Doyle Trout (Wrestling)

Ethical Leadership Award

Presented by UW Athletics Department

Chris and Barbara Gunther, Supporters of University of Wyoming Athletics as Mentors, Donors and Fans

Team Community Service, Leadership and Excellence Award

Women’s Soccer

Brother and Sister Teams of the Year

Women’s Volleyball and Men’s Swimming and Diving

Best Action Shot of the Year

Josh Allen (Football)

Record-Breaking Performance

Brian Hill (Football)

Head Coach of the Year

Craig Bohl, Football

Assistant Coach of the Year

Quincy Howe, Track and Field