Lunar Eclipse Visible In Most Major Land Areas Except North and Central America

Views
NASA Photo

This information came from NASA:

A lunar eclipse will be visible over much of the Earth on July 27, 2018.

At least part of the eclipse will be visible in all major land areas except North and Central America, with totality visible in the the Middle East, India, parts of central Asia and eastern and southern Africa.

Advertisement - Story continues below...

The eclipse will start 1:14 p.m. EDT (17:14 Universal Time, or UTC), with the moon fully eclipsed between 3:30 p.m. and 5:13 p.m. EDT (19:30 and 21:13 UTC). It will end at 7:28 p.m. EDT (23:28 UTC).

What is a Lunar Eclipse?

A lunar eclipse occurs when the Moon passes through the Earth’s shadow on the opposite side of the Earth from the Sun.

Watch the Skies blog: What is a lunar eclipse?

NASA TV will carry live views of the eclipse from approximately 2:15 p.m. EDT (18:15 UTC) until as late as 6:30 p.m. EDT (22:30 UTC):

This graphic shows the visibility of the July 27, 2018, lunar eclipse.
NASA/JPL Graphic