Rock Springs Students Participate in All-State Music Conference

Rock Springs Students Participate in All-State Music Conference

Sweetwater County School District No. 1 All-State Honor students and their directors in the front row from left to right are Rock Springs High School Choir Director Leesa Kuhlmann, Xenia Crosby, Makayla Kramer, Shiva Yeshlur, John Deru and in the back row are Karson Hansen, Micheal Kozlowski, Sean Pinkham, Kyan DeBernardi and RSHS Band Director Brian Redmond. Courtesy photo

ROCK SPRINGS — Eight students from Rock Springs High School and four Sweetwater County School District No. 1 teachers wrapped up a successful trip to Gillette for the Wyoming Music Educators Association/Wyoming High School Activities Association All-State Music Conference. 

The students, selected from more than 1,000 student auditions from across the state, spent two days rehearsing and learning from nationally recognized conductors and teachers, culminating in a performance at the gala concert on January 21. Students performing with the All-State Honor groups from Rock Springs were:

  • John Deru – Choir, Bass 1
  • Karson Hansen – Choir, Tenor 1
  • Shiva Yeshlur – Band, Alto Saxophone
  • Kyan DeBernardi – Band, Tuba
  • Sean Pinkham – Band, Clarinet
  • Micheal Kozlowski – Band, Euphonium
  • Xenia Crosby – Orchestra, Piccolo and Flute
  • Makayla Kramer – Orchestra, Clarinet

In addition to being selected for the ensembles, Xenia Crosby and Makayla Kramer both performed solos with the orchestra, and Kramer was a finalist for the WMEA Outstanding Senior Award. 

Advertisement - Story continues below...

While the students were busy rehearsing, SCSD 1 teachers took workshop classes from professors and educators from Wyoming and nationally. Having the opportunity to learn from the best about what’s going on in music education and develop their skills to better help serve the students of District No. 1. 

Additionally, Rock Springs High School Band Director Brian Redmond was recognized as the Phi Beta Mu Outstanding Bandmaster of the Year, and the South Big Horn Basin Music Educator of the Year.