Three Wolves Football Players Among Wyoming Chapter’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year Nominees

Three Wolves Football Players Among Wyoming Chapter’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year Nominees

WORLAND– The 99 nominees for this year’s Wyoming Chapter, National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete scholarships come from 35 different high schools from all five Wyoming prep football classifications plus the University of Wyoming.

The annual awards banquet is scheduled at the Marian Rochelle Gateway Center at the University of Wyoming on Saturday, March 17th.

The finalists, the most outstanding back and lineman from each classification, will be honored with a $1,200 scholarship and a chance to be named Wyoming’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Advertisement - Story continues below...

Awards Based on Football Ability, Academic Achievement, and Community Service

The Scholar-Athlete Awards are based 40 percent on football ability, 40 percent on academic achievement and 20 percent on community service. To qualify, a scholar-athlete must have a Grade Point Average of 3.0 or better.

University of Wyoming sports coverage
in Southwest Wyoming is supported by these great sponsors:

Other awards will include a Courage and/or Perseverance Award to an athlete or athletes who have overcome serious injuries or medical conditions.

The chapter also awards selected state residents with an outstanding contribution to amateur football award, the greatest UW and High School fans, an award for lifetime contributions to football officiating and an honor for an outstanding assistant coaches contribution.

2017 Nominees

The 2017 high school senior nominees for the Scholar-Athlete awards are:


  • Braenn Smith- Meeteetse
  • Kayden Best- Midwest
  • John Corson- Little Snake River
  • Mark Largent- Kaycee


  • Aidan McCurry- Big Horn
  • Anthony Petersen- Cokeville
  • Sterling Murdock- Cokeville
  • Jake Heil- Lusk
  • Haize Fornstrom- Pine Bluffs
  • Wyatt Fornstrom- Pine Bluffs
  • Wyatt Cox- Saratoga
  • Chase Lovercheck- Southeast
  • Sterling Werner- Southeast
  • Tanner Hort- Southeast
  • Brady Fullmer- Southeast
  • Dawson Butts- Upton
  • Damion Goff- Wright
  • Steven Monson- Wright
  • Tavin Salas- Wright
  • Cole Thomas- Wright


  • Chancy Hunt- Big Piney
  • Tristan Barney- Big Piney
  • Hezekhiah Sexson- Glenrock
  • Brock Jones- Glenrock
  • Richard Harris- Glenrock
  • Dalton Davies- Glenrock
  • Jadon Williams- Glenrock
  • Cyrus Skidmore- Kemmerer
  • Harlan Benedict- Mountain View
  • Cameron Quigley- Newcastle
  • Trevor Vaughn- Wheatland


  • Ray Rabou- Buffalo
  • Connor McLeod- Cody
  • Jacob Deardorff- Cody
  • Jordan Wasia- Cody
  • Matthew Skinner- Cody
  • Mac Simpson- Cody
  • Reece Andre- Cody
  • Dawson Bratton- Douglas
  • Harley Rhoades- Douglas
  • Collin Barker- Douglas
  • Michael Yeaman- Douglas
  • Chance Hofer- Green River
  • Devin Love- Green River
  • Cole White- Green River
  • AJ Lewis- Powell
  • Jaren Draper- Riverton
  • Cosmo Morgan- Star Valley
  • Doug Dickey- Star Valley
  • Gavin Patterson- Star Valley
  • Hunter Cranney- Star Valley
  • Kaden Robinson- Star Valley
  • Noah Hutchinson- Star Valley
  • Payton Erickson- Star Valley
  • Ronald Kaye- Star Valley
  • Nathan Stitt- Torrington
  • Jake Wamboldt- Torrington


  • Riley Boltz- Central
  • Keaton Bell- Central
  • Dylan Reed0 East
  • Joshua Gross- East
  • Nick Mirich- East
  • Jacob Fogg- East
  • Jakob Jones- East
  • Tevan Chu- East
  • Gunner Bartlett- East
  • Braedon Davis- East
  • Tommy Neal- East
  • Jordan Baker- East
  • Mathew Semler- East
  • Colton Bell- East
  • Jamis Lopez- East
  • John Miller- East
  • Logan Neuroth- Kelly Walsh
  • Daylon Puckett- Laramie
  • Garrett Worden- Laramie
  • Cole Thorpen- Natrona
  • Wesley Rice- Natrona
  • Brett Brenton- Natrona
  • Maeson Gallegos- Natrona
  • Chris Brown- Natrona
  • Jesse Harshman- Natrona
  • Kyler Halverson- Natrona
  • Ben Acres- Natrona
  • Chance Wray- Natrona
  • Tanner Smith- Natrona
  • Dakota DeArmon- Natrona
  • Kyle Custis- Sheridan
  • Blayne Baker- Sheridan
  • Coleman Worsley- Thunder Basin
  • Austin Clementson- Thunder Basin