WWCC Rocky Mountain District Championships Results

WWCC Rocky Mountain District Championships Results

The Western Wyoming Community College Mustangs competed in Powell at the Region IX wrestling tournament. Photo by Brayden Flack.

POWELL — Western Wyoming Community College traveled north of the state to take on regional opponents in the 2020 NJCAA Wrestling Rocky Mountain District Championships.

Last year, the Mustangs were crowned champions at the 2019 NJCAA Rocky Mountain District Championships with 109.5 team points. The Mustangs qualified 10 wrestlers for the 2019 NJCAA Wrestling Championships in Council Bluffs, Iowa.

Western, who was ranked first in the nation for most of the season, went into the tournament as the second best wrestling squad in the country.

Advertisement - Story continues below...

Check below for results from the tournament.

WWCC Results

The Mustangs had a strong performance in the semi-final round of the Rocky Mountain District tournament. Western pushed through wrestlers in every weight category except for the 125 division.

The championship round will begin at 2:00 p.m. and feature nine Mustangs.

Semi-final Round:

125: Devon Schoenbergor (NEJC) over Dalton Stutzman (WWCC) Fall 3:18

133: Kyle Evans (WWCC) over Adam Nolte (OTRO) 19-2

141: Kedric Coonis (WWCC) over BYE

149: Joey Revelli (WWCC) over Ty Addington (OTRO) 14-1

157: Anthony Herrera (WWCC) over BYE

165: Jared Bird (WWCC) over Logan Robb (OTRO) Fall 6:12

174: Andrew Nicholson (WWCC) over BYE

184: Jace Anderson (WWCC) over Tyson Carter (NOCO) Fall 4:32

197: Tucker Tomlinson (WWCC) over Austin Kelchen (NEJC)

285: Landon Brown (WWCC) over TJ Fraizer (NOCO) Fall

Championship Rounds

Western wrapped up the tournament with six wrestlers winning their respective championships along with two second place finishes. The team qualified all 10 wrestlers for the NJCAA Wrestling Championships in March.

Anthony Herrera won outstanding wrestler from the tournament and head coach Art Castillo was named the Rocky Mountain District Coach of the Year.

Western won the district title with 102 team points.

125: (Consolation Championship) – Mac Martinez (OTRO) over Dalton Stutzman (WWCC) Fall 4:56

133: Dessmund Prospero (NEJC) over Kyle Evans (WWCC) Decision 6-3. Evans finishes in second place.

141: Kedric Coonis (WWCC) over Van Bray (NOCO) Decision 7-0. Coonis wins championship.

149: Brayden Lowry (NOCO) over Joey Revelli (WWCC) Decision 8-2.

149: (True second place match) – Ariel Rodriguez (NEJC) over Joey Revelli (WWCC) Decision 4-3. Revelli finished in third place.

157: Anthony Hererra (WWCC) over Sebastian Robles (NEJC) Decision 11-5. Herrera wins championship.

165: Jared Bird (WWCC) over Jate Frost (NOCO) Major Decision 12-3. Bird wins championship.

174: Andrew Nicholson (WWCC) over Porter Fox (NOCO) Decision 12-9. Nicholson wins championship.

184: Hayden Wempen (NEJC) over Jace Anderson (WWCC) Decision 5-1. Jace Anderson finishes in second place.

197: Tucker Tomlinson (WWCC) over Majid Muratov (NOCO) Decision 5-3. Tomlinson wins championship.

285: Landon Brown (WWCC) over Connor White-Shrum (OTRO) Fall. Brown wins championship.