Cowboys Announce 2015-16 Basketball Schedule

Cowboys Announce 2015-16 Basketball Schedule

LARAMIE – The University of Wyoming men’s basketball team finalized its 2015-16 schedule Wednesday with the release of the Mountain West slate.

The reigning conference tournament champion Cowboys play their sixth season under head coach Larry Shyatt with nine MW home games and seven home contests during nonconference . Season tickets are now available through the Wyoming Athletics Ticket Office at 877-WYO-FAN1 (877-996-3261) or online at GoWYO.com.

“This is one of the youngest teams I’ve ever been a part of, but we’ve committed to play the most amount of nonconference road games in my tenure to prepare them for league play,” Shyatt said. “We did this intentionally to strengthen our RPI and put this team in learning situations. In nonconference we’ll play Montana State in a home and home to simulate league play and back-to-back days in a Las Vegas tournament to prepare us for the league tournament.”

Advertisement - Story continues below...

Highlights of Wyoming’s conference schedule include opening with a rematch of last season’s MW title game, as Wyoming plays at San Diego State on Wednesday, Dec. 30. Several prominent MW foes visit the Arena-Auditorium on Saturdays.

The Cowboys face UNLV on Jan. 9, Boise State on Jan. 23, Colorado State on Jan. 30 and Utah State on Feb. 6. The Broncos, Rams and Aggies all finished in the top four of the MW standings last season. Other notable MW games in the Double A include San Diego State on Wednesday, Feb. 24 and Senior Night for Josh Adams versus San Jose State on Wednesday, March 2.

The conference road schedule also includes the Cowboys at New Mexico on Saturday, Jan. 16. Wyoming has taken the Lobos to overtime in its last two trips to The Pit. This season’s Border War in Fort Collins, Colo., will be played on Feb. 20. Wyoming’s one-time MW opponents in 2015-16 are New Mexico and Utah State. The Cowboys will not travel to the Aggies or host the Lobos.

The Pokes’ nonconference schedule features Pac-12 power California making its first trip to Laramie. The Bears, a preseason top-10 team according to ESPN.com, visit Laramie on Dec. 5.

Other highlights include two Border Wars with northern neighbor Montana State in 2015-16. The Pokes face the Bobcats on Sunday, Nov. 22 in Billings, Mont., before hosting them on Saturday, Nov. 28. Wyoming also plays at another regional foe versus Denver on Wednesday, Dec. 2, before traveling to NCAA tournament participant New Mexico State on Sunday, Dec. 13.

The Cowboys conclude nonconference play in the Global Sports Classic on Dec. 21-22 in Las Vegas against Marshall and Houston or Grand Canyon.

Wyoming will seek to defend its MW tournament title on March 9-12 at UNLV’s Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas. The first round will be contested on Wednesday, March 9, followed by the quarterfinals on Thursday, March 10, the semifinals on Friday, March 11 and the title game on Saturday, March 12.

Season ticket renewals run through July 17, while fans interesting in becoming a season ticket holder can place a $100 deposit at this time. Game times and television information will be released at a later date. Games may shift from Wednesday to Tuesday and Saturday to Sunday for broadcast purposes.

 

2015-16 Wyoming Cowboys Basketball Schedule

November

Sat., Nov. 7 Fort Lewis (Exh.) Laramie

Fri., Nov. 13 Bristol University (Calif.) Laramie

Mon., Nov. 16 at Indiana State Terre Haute, Ind.

Thu., Nov. 19 New Mexico Highlands Laramie

Sun., Nov. 22 vs. Montana State Billings, Mont.

Wed., Nov. 25 CSU Bakersfield Laramie

Sat., Nov. 28 Montana State Laramie

 

December

Wed., Dec. 2 at Denver Denver, Colo.

Sat., Dec. 5 California Laramie

Thu., Dec. 10 Southern Laramie

Sun., Dec. 13 at New Mexico State Las Cruces, N.M.

Sat., Dec. 19 Omaha Laramie

Mon., Dec. 21 vs. Marshall Las Vegas, Nev.

Tue., Dec. 22 vs. Houston or Grand Canyon Las Vegas, Nev.

Wed., Dec. 30 at San Diego State* San Diego, Calif.

 

January

Sat., Jan. 2 at Nevada* Reno, Nev.

Wed., Jan. 6 Air Force* Laramie

Sat., Jan. 9 UNLV* Laramie

Wed., Jan. 13 at San Jose State* San Jose, Calif.

Sat., Jan. 16 at New Mexico* Albuquerque, N.M.

Wed., Jan. 20 Nevada* Laramie

Sat., Jan. 23 Boise State* Laramie

Wed., Jan. 27 at Fresno State* Fresno, Calif.

Sat., Jan. 30 Colorado State* Laramie

 

February

Wed., Feb. 3 at Air Force* Colorado Springs, Colo.

Sat., Feb. 6 Utah State* Laramie

Sat., Feb. 13 at Boise State* Boise, Idaho

Wed., Feb. 17 Fresno State* Laramie

Sat., Feb. 20 at Colorado State* Fort Collins, Colo.

Wed., Feb. 24 San Diego State* Laramie

Sat., Feb. 27 at UNLV* Las Vegas, Nev.

 

March

Wed., March 2 San Jose State* Laramie

Mountain West Championship

Wed., March 9 vs. First Round Las Vegas, Nev.

Thu., March 10 vs. Quarterfinals Las Vegas, Nev.

Fri., March 11 vs. Semifinals Las Vegas, Nev.

Sat., March 12 vs. Championship Las Vegas, Nev.

 

Bold indicates home games

* Indicates Mountain West games