Students Compete at the 2019 Wyoming State Spelling Bee

Students Compete at the 2019 Wyoming State Spelling Bee

Spelling Bee winners (left to right) Jackie Meador from Marbelton took first place, Paschall McDaniel from Jackson took second, and Lily Hitchcock from Lander took third.

ROCK SPRINGS– The 2019 Wyoming State Spelling Bee was held on March 23 on the Western Wyoming Community College campus in Rock Springs.  There were 75 spellers registered who represented 17 counties across the state. 

The spellers completed 32 rounds using 214 words.  Words ranged from “whit” and “acme” to “omnivorous” and “pumpernickel”.  There were also some foreign words included such as “haiku” and “sputnik”.

The top two spellers competed through 17 rounds before the top speller in Wyoming was determined.

Advertisement - Story continues below...

Jackie Meador from Marbleton took first place and will represent Wyoming at the 2019 Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington D.C.

Paschall McDaniel from Jackson placed second and Lily Hitchcock from Lander placed third.  Each were given a gift basket of educational games and supplies.  A monetary award was also presented to each of the three winners for their hard work. 

“In the past five years of my affiliation with the Wyoming State Spelling Bee, I have watched many of the contestants – including this year’s winner – growing up and maturing as spellers,” Kimberly Farley, Vice President for Student Learning at Western. “Jackie Meador will be a terrific representative for Wyoming as he participates in the Scripps National Spelling Bee in May.”

“I look forward to watching some of the oral rounds and hope to see Jackie in the group.  I congratulate all of the participants in this year’s Wyoming State Spelling Bee and look forward to seeing them next year in Rock Springs,” Farley added.

Dr. Kimberly Farley and Linda Day were the organizers of the 2019 Bee. Day and Farley expressed their gratitude for all the numerous volunteers and sponsors who helped make the event memorable for the students. 

The sponsors for 2019 were Wyoming Community Foundation, Newell B. Sargent Foundation, Western Wyoming Community College, Western Wyoming Foundation, Explore WY (Travel and Tourism), Sweetwater Trophies, Western Wyoming Beverages, and the University of Wyoming.