Rock Springs Students Earn Wyoming Congressional Awards

Rock Springs Students Earn Wyoming Congressional Awards

Rock Springs had several students received silver and bronze medals from Wyoming Congressional Award Council.

CHEYENNE — The Wyoming Congressional Award Council announced that 92 outstanding Wyoming youth earned bronze, silver and gold Congressional Awards in 2020. 

This year, 38 youth received gold medals and 54 youth earned bronze and silver medals. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, all in-person ceremonies were canceled in 2020. The 2020 Gold Medal Ceremony took place September 26 through a live-stream event.

Each medalist achieved a set of challenging goals in the areas of voluntary public service, personal development, physical fitness and expedition/ exploration. Participants in the Wyoming Congressional Awards program logged over 48,400 hours in public service, personal development and physical fitness in 2020.

Advertisement - Story continues below...

Earning a bronze medal requires at least a seven-month commitment while earning the gold medal involves two or more years and 400 hours of service. In order to earn a Bronze medal, participants completed 100 hours of volunteer service, 50 hours of personal development, 50 hours of physical fitness and executed a one-night exploration or expedition.

To earn a Silver medal, participants completed another 100 hours of service, 100 hours of personal development and 100 hours of physical fitness in addition to executing a two-night exploration or expedition.

The Gold Congressional Award is the most prestigious award for youth and the only award given to students by the U.S. Congress. In order to earn the Gold Congressional Award, participants must complete at least 400 hours of volunteer service, 200 hours of personal development, 200 hours of physical fitness and execute a four-night and five-day exploration or expedition. Gold medalists also receive a $1,000 higher education scholarship.

To see the complete list of medal recipients click here.


  • Dawson Fantin, Rocks Springs – BRONZE MEDAL
  • Faith Brandt, Rock Springs – SILVER MEDAL
  • Abbie Erramouspe, Rock Springs – SILVER MEDAL
  • Hudson Garner, Rock Springs – SILVER MEDAL
  • Karli Nelson, Rock Springs – SILVER MEDAL
  • Myla Ruiz, Rock Springs – SILVER MEDAL
  • Megan Zotti, Rock Springs – SILVER MEDAL


  • Reese Noble, Cora – BRONZE MEDAL
  • Zoe Griffin, Pinedale – SILVER MEDAL


  • Alyxa Martin, Mountain View – SILVER MEDAL